The journey you plan is rarely the journey you get…..

Crunch!

…. so….. the second day of hobo life also happens to be the first day of school for Akron students. Etta Mae James, my beloved and trusted vehicle, was parked safely off of the street. And my friend’s 17-year-old daughter, heading out to the first day of her Senior year of high school, somehow managed to crunch both passenger-side doors on her way to her first class.  Estimated time to repair — 7-8 days.  Lots of phone calls to insurance companies and repair shops.  My friend is delighted every time I’m asked for my home address and I reply, “I don’t have one.”  This seems to cause confusion for the agents and their mandatory fields on the other end of the line.

The daughter is not so delighted, but I assure her that most everything in life can be fixed, then gently add, “I’m just sorry that you didn’t get the ~other~ side of the car. There’s this little rattle in the driver’s side door that I would’ve loved to get fixed.”

One of the benefits of living in a town all your life are the people you get to know over so many years. My friends take me to Brown Street Autocraft, owned and managed by the fantastic Bob White. They introduce me, explain the situation, commiserate about the things their teen-agers have done, and Bob promises me that, even though they are closed for the long Labor Day weekend, he will get the car fixed by the following Friday.  I have no doubt that he will be good to his word.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

